Selection shock as NSW coach Michael Maguire set to drop skipper James Tedesco for first State Of Origin

Matt Shrivell
The Nightly
James Tedesco has been dropped for Game 1 of State Of Origin this year.
James Tedesco has been dropped for Game 1 of State Of Origin this year. Credit: AAP

Coach Michael Maguire has reportedly made several shock decisions including dropping the captain as the NSW State Of Origin squad is set to be announced.

Maguire who has taken the reins for his State Of Origin coaching debut, will make several key changes including dropping incumbent NSW captain James Tedesco in preference of the Panthers’ Dylan Edwards.

Manly’s Jake Trbojevic is expected to be named as the new NSW captain and starting front-rower.

Sign up to The Nightly's newsletters.

Get the first look at the digital newspaper, curated daily stories and breaking headlines delivered to your inbox.

Email Us
By continuing you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Maguire has been doing the rounds of weekend matches and no doubt had his hand forced, choosing Jerome Luai at five-eighth after a memorable performance leading his three-time premiership-winning Panthers to a 42-0 hammering of competition leaders Cronulla at Pointsbet Stadium on Saturday night.

Edwards was another who could not be ignored and likely cemented his starting spot at fullback to replace Tedesco after a blemish-free performance against the Sharks.

Cronulla playmaker Nicho Hynes has been brought into the squad as the potential NSW No.7, but the NRL pin-up player will have to pass fitness tests in camp tomorrow following a head knock and calf injury that forced him to leave the field in the first half on Saturday.

Roosters youngster Joseph Suaalii, who has signed a massive deal with Rugby Australia and will leave at the end of the 2024 season, will get his opportunity to represent NSW after he was chosen, with selection in the centres likely.

The expected NSW Squad: Dylan Edwards, Brian To’o, Stephen Crichton, Joseph Suaalii, Zac Lomax, Jarome Luai, Nicho Hynes, Payne Haas, Reece Robson, Jake Trbojevic, Angus Crichton, Liam Martin, Cam McInnes, Isiah Yeo, Haumole Olakau’atu Spencer Leniu, Hudson Young, Luke Keary, Matt Burton.


Latest Edition

The front page of The Nightly for 12-07-2024

Latest Edition

Edition Edition 12 July 202412 July 2024

Bumbling Biden has Americans hitting the panic button.